Shows I have seen & loved

In the span of about a month, I saw four really fabulous shows.

Hello Dolly – I went home to see my high school do this (they do my favorite show THE YEAR AFTER I GRADUATE!!!!!!) and although it wasn’t really professional or anything, I LOVED seeing a bunch of people put on a show I know & love (I really wanted to sing along to most of the songs). And it was my favorite show I have EVER SEEN AT THAT SCHOOL (and I’ve seen shows there since I was in 3rd grade).

As You Like It – performed by the University Theatre at my school. They redid it so that it took place in Vegas and a resort-ish place outside of Vegas, but As You Like It (sort of a combonation of Much Ado About Nothing, Twelfth Night, The Comedy of Errors and A Midsummer Night’s Dream) is probably my new favorite Shakespeare play.

Wicked – this has been in Portland for the past month, and I saw it over spring break. It might be MY FAVORITE MUSICAL. Although not entirely true to L. Frank Baum’s Oz books (for instance, my sources tell met there is a book about the tin woodman that tells a different story about him than Wicked does) it is really freaking AWESOME. Elphaba is just a misunderstood animal rights activist. Gotta love that. I really just wanted to turn around and watch it again afterwards.

Fame – Over spring break I also saw Fame at Vashon High School (we went to Vashon Island – in Puget Sound just north of Tacoma). They did a really good production – better than my high school’s production of Hello Dolly, actually. My only complaint is that their orchetra needs to learn about DYNAMICS. You can’t just blast through the whole show (my HS band director would have called it a blast fest). However, the leads were really good. Seriously can’t wait to see this show again sometime.

So, favorite musicals/plays?

One thought on “Shows I have seen & loved

  1. I have to go to a play every week for class. It suuuucks. You can’t just enjoy it. You have to learn something from it. And think about it.

    On the other hand, I feel so Intellectual now. My favorite so far? Don Karlos, Infant von Spanien.

Leave a Reply

